What happens if you sink the white in snooker?

If a hit is a foul then the other player gets penalty points: 4 points if the white ball is potted. 4 points if time limit is exceeded (60 seconds/shot) If the white hits the wrong ball first then the value of this ball.

What happens when you sink white?

If a player hits the white cue ball and the white cue ball does not subsequently come into contact with any of the player’s balls on the table, a foul has been committed. The player loses their turn and the opposing player is awarded an extra shot.

What happens if you sink the cue ball?

During the Game

Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.

What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?

If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the best snooker cues?

Where do you put the white ball after a scratch?

If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.

What do you do when the white ball goes in?

In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.

Can you purposely sink the white ball?

Yes, you can aim directly at your opponent’s ball and sink it, but you will lose your turn. … VNEA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid.

Do you lose when you scratch on the 8 ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. … Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

Can you move the white ball after a foul in pool?

On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who is commentating on bbc2 snooker now?

How many shots are in a black?

If the opposing player commits a foul and you are on the black ball, you are allowed two shots on it. Of course, the variant of pool that you are playing will dictate what is classed as a foul or not. In many cases, it will be one of the following: Failing to hit a rail with at least one ball.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. … If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?

The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.

8 ball