Your question: What are the rules of 9 ball pool?

On each shot the first ball the cue ball contacts must be the lowest-numbered ball on the table, but the balls need not be pocketed in order. If a player pockets any ball on a legal shot, he remains at the table for another shot, and continues until he misses, fouls, or wins the game by pocketing the 9-ball.

Do you lose if you scratch on 9 Ball?

But, scratching on the 9 ball doesn’t mean that you win the game, this is also is not a loss. In this situation, it’s considered a foul and as such, the 9 ball will be respotted and the opponent will have a ball in hand. If the spot is unavailable then the 9 ball is respotted just below the 9 ball spot.

What happens if the 9 ball is pocketed on the break?

The break consists of hitting the 1-ball, with the attempt to pocket any ball. If the nine-ball is successfully potted, the player automatically wins the rack. This is sometimes known as a golden break .

Can you combo the 9 ball to win?

Going in order, the nine ball is going to be the last ball on the table. You can also win by sinking the nine on a combo as long as the first ball you hit is the lowest number ball on the table. … Browse our selection of pool ball racks and break cues here at PoolDawg.com.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the rules of American pool?

How do you lose in 9 ball?

If the player misses or fouls, the other player begins his inning and shoots until he misses, fouls, or wins. the game ends when the nine ball is pocketed on a legal shot, or the game is forfeited for a serious infraction of the rules.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?

Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot.

Does slop count in 9-ball?

You win the game when you pocket the 9-ball, at any time, even on the break, provided the lowest numbered ball on the table is contacted first. … No balls need to be called. In slang terms, “slop” or “trash” (making a ball by accident) counts.

Do you have to call the nine ball in pool?

Unlike other cue sports, you do not have to call shots when playing 9 ball pool. What makes the game unique is that the cue ball must come into contact with the lowest number on the table. Balls can be pocketed out of order so long as the lowest number ball receives initial contact.

What is the difference between 8-ball and 9 ball pool?

In 8-ball, the object is to hit either the striped or solid-colored balls (but not both), followed by the 8-ball, whereas in 9-ball you must hit the balls in numerical order, followed by the 9-ball, or try a combination shot that knocks the lowest-numbered object ball into the 9-ball and pockets the latter.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Can you put a pool table on vinyl plank flooring?
8 ball