You asked: Does your hand have to touch the table in pool?

Can you put your hand on the table in pool?

Yes, some leagues play ball in hand. Meaning if you scratch the cue ball can be placed anywhere on the table, not just in the “kitchen.” … So, what you do is the other player gets to put the cue ball on one side of the table on the line on each end. Then you put it on the side you want.

What are the rules of pool table?

Rules of Pool

  • Before the game begins, the object balls should be placed in a triangular rack and positioned at the lower end of the table so that the apex ball of the rack lies on the foot spot. …
  • If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break.
IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the best size shuffleboard?

What are the scratch rules in pool?

In almost every version of 8-ball pool, scratching is considered a foul when shooting at object balls other than the 8 ball. When scratching on an 8 ball shot, the offending player forfeits the game to his or her opponent and the game is over. However, it is only a loss if the 8 ball is no longer in play.

Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?

8 ball-pool Rules

2. The Break – Player A must place the white ball behind the line and hit the pack. A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

What happens if you knock a ball off the pool table?

OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.

Do you have to call every shot in pool?

Calling the Shots

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: What does every pool player need?

If the shot is obvious, you don’t have to call it, but your opponent is entitled to ask if he or she is not sure. If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

What is a table scratch in pool?

A table scratch happens when you hit the cue ball or object balls in a way that isn’t legal, but don’t actually pocket the cue ball. This is sometimes called a “foul”. These are the rules for a legal shot: The cue can strike the cue ball only once.

What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?

If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game. … Even if the black ball was the only one left if the white ball goes down, you lose.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: What type of game is 8 ball pool?

What is a free shot in pool?

Following a foul the table is declared ‘open’ and the oncoming player takes a ‘free’ shot. In doing so it is permissible to play onto any object ball. Any ball may be potted, including the black if it is ‘on’.

Do you win in Pool If you sink the 8 ball on the break?

Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … When a player pockets a called ball following the break, that’s when you choose whether you’re solids or stripes.

8 ball