Where can you put the white ball in pool?

If you scratch on the cue ball anytime in the middle of the game you lose your turn and you will get a penalty. The penalty is that the opponent gets the ball in hand. Usually, by professional league rules, he can place the ball anywhere on the table.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: What pool ball is red and white?

What happens if you sink the white ball in pool?

During the Game

Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.

What do you do when a white ball goes in?

When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch. Bar Rules: Your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere they would like behind the head string.

When can the white ball be moved in pool?

The most common time that a white ball is moved is before the break. Players are allowed to position the cue ball in a way that will set them up for the perfect break. Unlike the other two situations, there will be strict limitations on where the ball can be placed in this situation.

What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: What size is a 90 pool table?

Can you purposely sink the white ball?

Yes, you can aim directly at your opponent’s ball and sink it, but you will lose your turn. … VNEA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid.

Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?

On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.

What is it called when you get the white ball in pool?

The white ball in the pool game is known as “cue ball.” It is the only white ball on the pool table and the only ball that can be stroke with a cue stick.

What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?

If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost.

Where do you put the white ball after a scratch?

Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: What are different types of pool games?

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Can you move the cue ball if you don’t hit a ball?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.

Can you move the white ball if you have 2 shots?

In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.

What happens if you move a ball in pool?

Any balls moved accidentally during a shot must be replaced by the opponent after the shot is over and all balls have stopped rolling. … Your opponent indirectly altered the course of the cue ball by moving an object ball.

8 ball