Where can you place the white ball in pool?

If you scratch on the cue ball anytime in the middle of the game you lose your turn and you will get a penalty. The penalty is that the opponent gets the ball in hand. Usually, by professional league rules, he can place the ball anywhere on the table.

Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?

The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.

What do you do when a white ball goes in?

When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch. Bar Rules: Your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere they would like behind the head string.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you choose a pool cue tip?

Where do you hit the white ball in pool?

Where to Strike the Cue Ball. A stop shot should be hit dead center on the cue ball for maximum control. Although some players like to hit a little below center to make the ball slide and stop it in its tracks after it makes contact with the object ball.

Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?

I.

In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break).

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

Can you move the cue ball if you don’t hit a ball?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who makes the most expensive pool cue?

Do you lose pool if you sink the white ball?

What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.

What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?

On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

What does hitting the cue ball in different spots do?

More importantly, you need to understand that striking different spots on the cue ball will enable you to execute different types of shots so find out more below. A stop shot is a form of a slide shot, which refers to the movement of a cue ball without any follow or draw spin.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How do I clean my pool balls?

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Does the 8 ball go on the dot?

The eight ball will always be placed in the center of the rack. 4. Begin on the end of the table with the racking dot. If there is not one, then pick a side you would like to rack from.

What happens if cue ball is pocketed?

It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.

When can you move the cue ball in pool?

Basically, that cue ball shouldn’t be moving at all unless the cue is touching it. If the ball is moved accidentally by the cue, this is classed as a shot. In almost all cases, a scratch like this is going to result in a ‘ball in hand’ penalty.

8 ball