If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. 7.
Where do you put the cue ball after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What are the rules when you scratch in pool?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?
The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.
Where do you put the balls in pool?
The first ball must be placed at the apex position (front of the rack and so the center of that ball is directly over the table’s foot spot ). The two corner balls must be a stripe and a solid. All balls other than the 8 ball are placed at random, but in conformance with the preceding corner ball rule.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Do you pull a ball when you scratch in pool?
From section 5 of the bank pool rules, 5.2 Any scratch or foul ends the shooter’s inning, and a penalty of one ball is charged. 3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.
Is it a scratch in pool if you don’t hit a ball?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. … If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.
Is a table scratch on the 8 ball a loss?
19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.
Can you move the white ball after a foul in pool?
On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Can you sink the white ball on purpose?
What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.
Does the 8 ball go on the dot?
The eight ball will always be placed in the center of the rack. 4. Begin on the end of the table with the racking dot. If there is not one, then pick a side you would like to rack from.
How do you break perfectly in 8 ball pool?
More videos on YouTube
As shown below, a good power option for the 8-ball break is to position the CB slightly off center, and hit the lead ball squarely. As with the 10-ball break, the 2nd-row balls tend to head toward the side pockets, and the corner balls can go four rails to the corners.