When can I hit the black ball in pool?

Except following a foul when only the black ball and ball(s) of the opponents group are on the table, then with the first shot of the first visit, the player may legally pocket the black ball as well as ball(s) of the opponent’s group by any combination and in any order.

Can you hit the black ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).

What are the rules of blackball?

Blackball Rules enable an opponent’s ball be potted legally at any time during the frame; provided one of your own colours is also potted during the same shot, this is called a skill shot and is illegal in World Rules.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Do you lose pool if you sink the white ball?

Can you hit the black ball in 8 ball pool?

You may strike any object ball at this point, whether it is striped or solid. It is even legal to strike the 8-ball when the table is open—but don’t pocket the 8-ball.

Can you hit the black ball on purpose?

Blackball. (d) does not attempt to hit a ball on. Again however, you may be playing to other rulesets, and this should be clarified in them.

What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is a 6ft pool table worth it?

What if you sink the 8 ball on the break?

Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … When a player pockets a called ball following the break, that’s when you choose whether you’re solids or stripes.

What happens if the black ball leaves the table?

When two object balls fail to cross that line, and no group balls are potted, a standard foul is declared. If the cue ball is potted or driven off the table, then that too is a foul. More about fouls and their consequences in blackball pool below. Any fouls on the break are ignored if the black ball is potted.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

Is there 2 shots on the black ball?

Since there is no ‘two-shot’ rule in 9-ball pool, there will never be two shots on the black. If your opponent fouls, you are allowed to pick up the cue ball and place it anywhere you wish on the table. … Your opponent may allow you to take a second shot, but this is going to be incredibly rare in 9-ball pool.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you measure a pool table for fabric?

Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?

8 ball-pool Rules

2. The Break – Player A must place the white ball behind the line and hit the pack. A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break.

Do you lose a game of pool if you scratch on the 8 ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

Can you purposely hit the 8 ball?

VNEA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid.

What does Black Ball mean?

1 : to vote against especially : to exclude from membership by casting a negative vote. 2a : to exclude socially : ostracize.

8 ball