What is the rule when you scratch in pool?

In almost every version of 8-ball pool, scratching is considered a foul when shooting at object balls other than the 8 ball. When scratching on an 8 ball shot, the offending player forfeits the game to his or her opponent and the game is over. However, it is only a loss if the 8 ball is no longer in play.

What happens if you scratch in 8ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

What happens when you scratch in straight pool?

If the starting player scratches on a legal opening break, he is charged with a foul and assessed a one point penalty, which applies toward the “Successive Fouls Penalties”. The incoming player is awarded cue ball in hand behind the head string, with object balls in position.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How does a pool table coin mechanism work?

Do you have to accept a scratch in pool?

Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.

What are the scratch rules?

You are free to remix projects, ideas, images, or anything else you find on Scratch – and anyone can use anything that you share. Be sure to give credit when you remix. Keep personal info private. For safety reasons, do not use real names or post contact info like phone numbers or addresses.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Can you win on a scratch in pool?

If a player scratches on an 8 ball shot, but fails to pocket the 8 ball, it is considered a foul. The opposing player takes over, ball-in-hand anywhere on the table. If, however, a player scratches the cue ball and sinks the 8-ball (or drives it off the table), the game is forfeit and the opposing player wins.

Do you lose if you scratch on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What sizes do pool tables come in?

What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

Do you have to call your shot in pool?

Eight Ball is generally played as a call shot game, which means that before you hit a ball, you must call the shot. First you pick your shot, then you say it aloud so your opponent can hear you: “Five ball in the corner pocket” or whatever the shot is that you’re about to make.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit the 8-ball?

If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.

Can you chip the ball in pool?

It’s legal in American-style pool but not in English-style pool. The jump shot is only allowed if you strike down into the table; you are not allowed to “scoop” the ball. They have special, shorter cues to control the jump shot and some players even practice this shot and are better than others at it.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Are Brunswick pool tables made in China?

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

Do you take out a ball on a scratch?

5.2 Any scratch or foul ends the shooter’s inning, and a penalty of one ball is charged. 3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.

8 ball