What is spotting a ball in pool?

Balls are spotted (returned to play on the table) by placing them on the long string (long axis of the table) as close as possible to the foot spot and between the foot spot and the foot rail, without moving any interfering ball.

What is a spot shot in pool?

Spot Shot – Billiard Term Definition

Spot Shot is a billiards term that is a part of Billiard Technique Terminology. A spot shot is a shot where the object ball is placed on the foot spot down table and the cue ball is place somewhere in the kitchen.

What happens if you pocket the cue ball?

Pocketing the Cue Ball

When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch. … Then the opponent will have to place the ball behind the head string and make contact with a ball beyond the head string.

Where does the ball go after being scratched?

If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: What color is the number 7 pool ball?

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?

Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot.

What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Can I hit the 8-ball first?

When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is Legacy a good pool table?

How do I make my pool shoot better?

How to Get Better at Pool: 9 Fundamental Practice Tips

  1. Practice Your Grip. A common mistake many beginner pool players make is gripping the cue too tightly. …
  2. Swing Like a Pendulum. …
  3. Practice Your Bridges. …
  4. Work on Your Stance. …
  5. Practice Your Body Alignment. …
  6. Find the Imaginary Aiming Line. …
  7. Master You Pre-Shot Routine. …
  8. Have a Pre-Stroke Routine.
8 ball