What is it called when you get the white ball in pool?

The white ball in the pool game is known as “cue ball.” It is the only white ball on the pool table and the only ball that can be stroke with a cue stick.

What is it called when you make the white ball in pool?

The white ball is known as the “cue” ball. It is the white, unnumbered ball that players must always strike with the cue during the game. It is a foul to directly hit any other ball other than the white ball with the cue.

What happens if you hit the cue ball in?

When a player has the cue ball in hand behind the head string, the referee shall warn him before he shoots if he has placed the cue ball on or within 1/2 ball width outside of the head string. If the player then shoots from on or within the specified distance outside the head string, the stroke is a foul.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How can I play 8 ball pool on my laptop?

What happens if you sink the white ball in pool?

During the Game

Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.

When can you move the cue ball?

Here are a couple of rules to remember: You cannot touch, move or impact an object ball in any way except by the legal ball-to-ball contact. Similarly, you cannot touch or move the cue ball either, except by the cue tip striking it, unless a ball-in-hand was called.

Where does the white ball go in pool?

In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.

Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?

The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What score do you play to in shuffleboard?

What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?

If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost.

What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

Can you purposely sink the white ball?

Yes, you can aim directly at your opponent’s ball and sink it, but you will lose your turn. … VNEA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Can you move the cue ball if you don’t hit a ball?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: What happens if you hit the 8 ball in pool?

Can you move the white ball if you have 2 shots?

In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

8 ball