The cue ball is always “LIVE” and if the cue ball or the hand holding or moving it touches another ball, it is a cue ball foul and your opponent will receive “ball in hand”.
What happens if you hit a ball with your hand in pool?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.) … Failure to hit you object ball first.
What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
5. A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Is there touching ball in pool?
Touching any ball the player is legally entitled to play. The player may choose either; Play away from the touching ball, and be deemed to have played that ball. Should the cue ball fail to make contact with any ball, or strike the opponents ball, or 8 ball (black), then the shot is fair, no foul.
What happens if you knock a pool ball off the table?
OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game. Any jumped object balls are spotted.
Do you win pool if you hit 8 ball break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Is scratching on the 8 ball a loss?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.
Do you have to call pocket in 9 ball?
If a player pockets any ball on a legal shot, he remains at the table for another shot, and continues until he misses, fouls, or wins the game by pocketing the 9-ball. … Players are not required to call any shot.
Can I hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
What are the odds of making the 8 ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
8 ball-pool Rules
2. The Break – Player A must place the white ball behind the line and hit the pack. A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break.
Where does the black ball go in pool?
WEPF World Rules
The balls are racked with the black (the 8 ball) on the foot spot (or “black spot”), in contrast with US-style eight-ball, nine-ball and most other pool games, in which the apex ball is placed on the foot spot.
What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
LOSS OF GAME
a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.
Do you have to call every shot in pool?
Calling the Shots
If the shot is obvious, you don’t have to call it, but your opponent is entitled to ask if he or she is not sure. If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot.