In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.
Can you hit the other opponent’s ball in pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
What happens if you sink black ball and opponents ball?
The shooter wins the rack if they sink the black ball, and do not commit a foul under the rules. As it is a free shot, the shooter cannot be called foul under 6.2 Wrong Ball First. They may of course shoot the cue ball into the opponent ball, so that it contacts the black ball and sinks it.
Can you hit an opponent’s ball into the 8 ball?
in BCA rules hitting your opponents balls first is a foul resulting in ball in hand, not loss of game even on the 8 ball. in BCA rules as long as the 8 is still on the table the game is not over. … There is only one way to win 8-ball, that is to pocket the 8 ball legally into a called pocket.
What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?
LOSS OF GAME
a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What happens if you pocket the cue ball?
Pocketing the Cue Ball
When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch. … Then the opponent will have to place the ball behind the head string and make contact with a ball beyond the head string.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Can you hit a ball in the kitchen in pool?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Do you take a ball out if you scratch?
5.2 Any scratch or foul ends the shooter’s inning, and a penalty of one ball is charged. 3.9 Standard Fouls If the shooter commits a foul, play passes to his opponent. The cue ball is in hand, and the incoming player may place it anywhere on the playing surface.