What happens if you sink the white ball in pool?

What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.

What happens if you sink the cue ball?

During the Game

Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.

Do you lose if you sink the cue ball?

Therefore, you would lose because you scratch the cue ball into the pocket while pocketing the 8 ball.

What do you do when you hit the white ball in pool?

The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole. If you fail and put the white ball into a hole, it’s considered as a mistake (SCRATCH).

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is chipping the ball in Pool A foul?

What happens if you sink the 8 ball and the white ball?

If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost. … As long as the 8 ball is still in play… meaning not in a pocket…the game is still on.

Can you purposely sink the white ball?

Yes, you can aim directly at your opponent’s ball and sink it, but you will lose your turn. … VNEA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

What happens if you don’t call a pocket in pool?

If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What happens when you break in a game of pool?

Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?

On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.

Where does the white ball go in pool?

In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?

Then it’s your opponent turn to shoot. If you hit your opponent ball first then it’s a foul. Which is your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How do you hang a pool table light?

Do you lose when you scratch on the 8 ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. … Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

8 ball