What happens if you miss the white ball in pool?

If the cue ball was not disturbed, then no shot has been played. Therefore, there can be no stroke violation. Perfectly legal – the striker can keep going until the cue ball is actually struck.

What happens if the white ball doesn’t hit anything?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. Not all fouls are scratches, but all scratches are fouls. … If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.

What happens if you pocket the white ball?

Pocketing the Cue Ball

In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the best break in 9 ball pool?

How do I get my pool balls white again?

How to Make Your Pool Balls White Again

  1. Put them in the dishwasher. The high heat and cleaners used in dishwashers are not good for the balls, and it may remove the color on the balls.
  2. Use bleach. …
  3. Use abrasive cleaners. …
  4. Use anything not intended for use on a billiard ball.

Do you lose in pool if you miss the 8 ball?

Hitting the 8 ball on the floor, or sinking the 8 ball on the same shot as you fouled is an automatic loss. Missing the 8 ball, not hitting the 8 ball first or even sinking the cue ball on a shot at the 8 ball is NOT a loss under official 8 ball rules (unless you also sink the 8 ball) despite popular belief.

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).

What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Can you hit the other players ball in pool?

Do you lose pool if you sink the white ball?

What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.

Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?

On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Why do pool balls turn yellow?

Pool balls turn yellow due to exposure to UV light, heat, and air. These elements combine to break down the materials used to construct pool balls, giving them an off-white appearance.

Are old pool balls worth anything?

You can dispose of them, unless they have some sort of nostalgic value to you. There may be some more modern pool balls that boast cool patterns, or part of a limited edition set. These may be worth something but, for the most part, modern pool balls have no value.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you sit on the table in pool?

How do I get the yellow out of my pool balls?

Mix soap and water on one bucket, then soak your pool balls in it for about 5 to 10 minutes. Prepare lukewarm water on the other bucket. After the time is up, take out the pool balls and use a microfiber cloth to ‘buff’ them up for 20 to 30 minutes.

Do you lose if you miss the black ball in pool?

a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. … d) A player who clearly fails to make any attempt to play a ball of their own group will lose the game.

Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?

Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.

Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

8 ball