What happens if you hit the opponents ball first in Pool?

If you make a shot and sink your ball legally, by hitting it first, but an opponent’s ball also goes into a pocket, it is not considered a foul. It is considered a successful shot, meaning you get to keep shooting until you miss a shot or foul. Both balls stay pocketed.

Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?

Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What are the rules for Black Ball Pool?

What happens if you sink the opponent’s ball in pool?

Sinking one of the opponent’s balls as a side-effect of a shot is ignored. Sinking one of your own on a deliberate foul is at least punished as a foul with ball in hand.

Can you combo off opponents ball in pool?

“Combination shots are legal during league play. The shooter must strike his/her category of balls first to execute such a skill shot, and if the categories have not been determined all solid/stripe balls are neutral.

Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?

So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is there a 16 ball in pool?

Do you lose if you don’t hit the 8 ball?

If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.

Do you lose when you scratch on the 8 ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. … Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

8 ball