When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).
Does the ball have to touch the cushion in pool?
Rule 1 – After the cue ball has made contact with the object ball a ball must touch a cushion after contact or the legal object ball must be potted. If the legal object is potted you do not need to hit a cushion after contact with the object ball.
Do you have to move the ball on a scratch?
If an object ball is pocketed on the break, you get to continue with your turn, unless you scratch (i.e., you pocket the cue ball) on the break. … the cue ball is pushed by the cue stick (i.e., the cue tip remains in contact with the cue ball much longer than with a normal impact stroke).
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Do you win if you make the 8 ball on break?
An automatic win for the player breaking, however, if the cue ball is scratched when making the 8-ball on the break, the opponent wins the game. Option #2. The breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting.
What ball goes on the spot in Pool?
When racking the balls a triangle must be used, and the apex ball is to be spotted on the foot spot. All the balls must be lined up behind the apex ball and pressed together so that they all have contact with each other. Legal shots require that the cue ball be struck only with the cue tip.
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game. … Even if the black ball was the only one left if the white ball goes down, you lose.
Can you play a push shot in pool?
Definitions: Most shots commonly known as “Push Shots” in the game of “Snooker” are allowed in the game of Eight – Ball Pool. Generally, any shot played with speed will not be deemed to be a Push Shot regardless of the fact that the cue tip may have come into contact with the Cue Ball more than once.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
Table Scratch. When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
When can you move the cue ball in pool?
Basically, that cue ball shouldn’t be moving at all unless the cue is touching it. If the ball is moved accidentally by the cue, this is classed as a shot. In almost all cases, a scratch like this is going to result in a ‘ball in hand’ penalty.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)