Is it Legal to Shoot Backwards in Pool? As long as the cue ball isn’t in the string, you can shoot the ball in any direction you’d like.
Are you allowed to shoot backwards in pool?
That’s a good question, because there’s no concept of backwards in normal play. And there should be no concept of backwards in a foul if you are playing pool because if a foul is commited, then the other person is allowed to place the ball anywhere on the table and not just the header (unlike snooker).
Are you allowed to touch the table in pool?
are considered jumped balls. Balls may bounce on the cushion tops and rails of the table in play without being jumped balls if they return to the bed of the table under their own power and without touching anything not a part of the table.
What are the rules of pool table?
Rules of Pool
- Before the game begins, the object balls should be placed in a triangular rack and positioned at the lower end of the table so that the apex ball of the rack lies on the foot spot. …
- If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break.
What happens if you hit a ball of the table in pool?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. … The shooter loses his turn; any balls pocketed remain pocketed; and the incoming player addresses the balls with the table still open.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Is a table scratch on the 8 ball a loss?
19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.
Can I hit the 8 ball first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What is straight pool rules?
In straight pool, the player may attempt to pocket any object ball on the table regardless of its number or color until one object ball and the cue ball remain, at which point the other fourteen balls are replaced. …
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). … When on the eight-ball, if the player pots it but also fouls, that player loses the game.
What happens if the black ball leaves the table in pool?
If the cue ball is potted or driven off the table, then that too is a foul. More about fouls and their consequences in blackball pool below. Any fouls on the break are ignored if the black ball is potted. If that happens the object balls are always racked again and the same player breaks.
What happens if the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
What happens if you foul in pool?
In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break).