Quick Answer: Can you hit the other players ball in pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How long do bumpers last on a pool table?

Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?

Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).

What happens if you don’t hit your own ball in pool?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.

Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

IT IS INTERESTING:  What age rating is 8 ball pool?

Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?

So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Can you move the white ball in pool after a foul?

On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can I put pool table in garage?
8 ball