Question: What happens if you make both balls in pool?

It’s not the most common occurrence, but it can happen. In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul.

What happens if you make someone elses ball in pool?

Absolutely. According to world pool rules, as long as you play a legal shot (hit your target ball first, and then either pot a ball or touch a cushion), you are fine. There is no foul for sinking an opponents ball. If you only sink your opponents ball, it’s simply their shot next —as if you sunk nothing.

What happens when you scratch and make a ball in pool?

It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How do you keep a pool table on its side?

Can you hit another persons ball in pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

What happens if you don’t hit your own ball in pool?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much does 8 ball pool earn?

Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?

Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot.

Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?

8 ball-pool Rules

2. The Break – Player A must place the white ball behind the line and hit the pack. A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break.

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Can a slate pool table be stored on its side?
8 ball