Question: What happens if you hit the 8 ball in pool?

When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.

Can I hit the 8 ball in pool?

When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in the wrong pocket?

You win the game when you pocket all of the balls in your assigned group and then pocket the 8-ball without scratching or committing a foul. 14. You lose the game if you: … pocket the 8-ball in the wrong (non called) pocket.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How do you cheat at the pool game?

What happens if you hit the black ball in pool?

If a player pockets the black ball before they have pocketed all the balls in their set (yellows or red), they instantly lose the game. If a player hits the white cue ball and the white cue ball does not subsequently come into contact with any of the player’s balls on the table, a foul has been committed.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. … If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

Do you have to hit your ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How do you open the surprise box in 8 ball pool?

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?

Illegal Shots

If you’re playing a call shot game, you must hit the ball you called first. If you hit another one of your balls, it’s considered a foul and a loss of turn.

Do you lose in pool if you miss the 8 ball?

Hitting the 8 ball on the floor, or sinking the 8 ball on the same shot as you fouled is an automatic loss. Missing the 8 ball, not hitting the 8 ball first or even sinking the cue ball on a shot at the 8 ball is NOT a loss under official 8 ball rules (unless you also sink the 8 ball) despite popular belief.

What is the black ball rule?

Blackball Rules enable an opponent’s ball be potted legally at any time during the frame; provided one of your own colours is also potted during the same shot, this is called a skill shot and is illegal in World Rules.

Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

Is there 2 shots on the black ball?

Since there is no ‘two-shot’ rule in 9-ball pool, there will never be two shots on the black. If your opponent fouls, you are allowed to pick up the cue ball and place it anywhere you wish on the table. … Your opponent may allow you to take a second shot, but this is going to be incredibly rare in 9-ball pool.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is humidity bad for a pool table?

Do you lose if you scratch on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?

The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). … When on the eight-ball, if the player pots it but also fouls, that player loses the game.

8 ball