Question: Can you hit an opponent’s ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?

Illegal Shots

If you’re playing a call shot game, you must hit the ball you called first. If you hit another one of your balls, it’s considered a foul and a loss of turn.

Can I hit opponents ball in pool?

In pool, can you hit your opponents ball after you have touched your own object ball? … As long as your own ball is hit first then the only way you foul would be a cue ball scratch, 8 ball being sunk (a loss), any ball jumping off the table (if it is the 8 ball, then it is a loss). Otherwise, it is a legal shot.

What happens if you sink the opponent’s ball in pool?

Sinking one of the opponent’s balls as a side-effect of a shot is ignored. Sinking one of your own on a deliberate foul is at least punished as a foul with ball in hand.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How do you keep score on a pool table?

Can you hit opponents ball into 8 Ball?

BCA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?

5. A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Is scratching on the 8 ball a loss?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you straighten a pool table?

What happens if you pocket the cue ball?

Pocketing the Cue Ball

When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch. … Then the opponent will have to place the ball behind the head string and make contact with a ball beyond the head string.

8 ball