Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?

Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?

Illegal Shots

If you’re playing a call shot game, you must hit the ball you called first. If you hit another one of your balls, it’s considered a foul and a loss of turn.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: How hard is it to assemble a pool table?

What’s considered a scratch in pool?

The Definition of A Scratch In Pool

A scratch is broadly defined as a cue ball driven off the table or pocketed. For most of the game, these actions are considered standard fouls and result in ball-in-hand for the opponent either on the entire table or behind the head string.

What happens if you sink the opponent’s ball in pool?

Sinking one of the opponent’s balls as a side-effect of a shot is ignored. Sinking one of your own on a deliberate foul is at least punished as a foul with ball in hand.

Is it a scratch if you don’t hit your ball?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Can I hit opponents ball in pool?

In pool, can you hit your opponents ball after you have touched your own object ball? … As long as your own ball is hit first then the only way you foul would be a cue ball scratch, 8 ball being sunk (a loss), any ball jumping off the table (if it is the 8 ball, then it is a loss). Otherwise, it is a legal shot.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the proper height for a pool table?

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Do you lose at pool if you scratch on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?

Break Scratch Rules

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you restore yellowed pool balls?

If you scratch on the break, any ball that drops into a pocket stay pocketed. Your opponent gets the cue ball in hand, places it behind the head string and takes the next shot.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

8 ball