Making the nine ball on the break is an automatic win for the player breaking. However, if the cue ball is scratched when making the nine ball, the nine ball is respotted.
Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
But, scratching on the 9 ball doesn’t mean that you win the game, this is also is not a loss. In this situation, it’s considered a foul and as such, the 9 ball will be respotted and the opponent will have a ball in hand. If the spot is unavailable then the 9 ball is respotted just below the 9 ball spot.
What happens if you scratch in pool?
In almost every version of 8-ball pool, scratching is considered a foul when shooting at object balls other than the 8 ball. When scratching on an 8 ball shot, the offending player forfeits the game to his or her opponent and the game is over. However, it is only a loss if the 8 ball is no longer in play.
What are the rules of 9 ball?
The rules are fairly simple. You aim to pot the balls in order until the 9 ball drops. Whoever pots it has won, regardless of how many of the previous balls the player was responsible for holing. Miss a shot and no balls go down, your turn is over and your opponent comes to the table.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
How do you lose in 9 ball?
If the player misses or fouls, the other player begins his inning and shoots until he misses, fouls, or wins. the game ends when the nine ball is pocketed on a legal shot, or the game is forfeited for a serious infraction of the rules.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Is a table scratch on the 8-ball a loss?
19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.
What are the rules for scratching in pool?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.
What is an illegal break in 9 ball?
Cue ball needs to be shot from behind the break line and needs to touch the 1 ball and after doing so any ball needs to touch a rail. So an illegal break would be not touching 1 ball and then a rail, shooting from past the break line or having the cue ball fly off the table. Result is ball in hand for your opponent.
Does slop count in 9 ball?
You win the game when you pocket the 9-ball, at any time, even on the break, provided the lowest numbered ball on the table is contacted first. … No balls need to be called. In slang terms, “slop” or “trash” (making a ball by accident) counts.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Can you intentionally scratch in pool?
A foul is called only if the player fouls while actually stroking the cue ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball (sometimes called double clutching). Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling. … Anytime the cue ball goes in a pocket b.
What are the odds of making the 8 ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.