Frequent question: Can you hit any ball in pool?

The table is always considered open immediately following the break shot. You may strike any object ball at this point, whether it is striped or solid. It is even legal to strike the 8-ball when the table is open—but don’t pocket the 8-ball.

Can you hit others balls in pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How far does a pool table need to be away from the wall?

What if you don’t hit any balls in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

Can you hit another ball on 8 Ball?

in BCA rules hitting your opponents balls first is a foul resulting in ball in hand, not loss of game even on the 8 ball. in BCA rules as long as the 8 is still on the table the game is not over.

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the rules to pool?

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

When can you move the cue ball in pool?

Basically, that cue ball shouldn’t be moving at all unless the cue is touching it. If the ball is moved accidentally by the cue, this is classed as a shot. In almost all cases, a scratch like this is going to result in a ‘ball in hand’ penalty.

What are the odds of making the 8-ball on the break?

The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.

8 ball