Frequent question: Are you allowed to chip the white ball in pool?

It’s legal in American-style pool but not in English-style pool. The jump shot is only allowed if you strike down into the table; you are not allowed to “scoop” the ball. They have special, shorter cues to control the jump shot and some players even practice this shot and are better than others at it.

Can you pick up the white ball in pool?

Can you move the white ball in pool? On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like.

What happens if you hit the white ball in pool?

What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you use a pool table as a poker table?

3.27 JUMP SHOTS

Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.

Can you scratch on purpose in pool?

10. FOULS – If any of the following fouls are committed, the penalty is “ball in hand” for the incoming player. Make certain you have “ball in hand” before you touch the cue ball by confirming with your opponent. … Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling.

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you put a pool table on concrete?

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

What happens if the cue ball goes in?

When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch. Bar Rules: Your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere they would like behind the head string.

Why are masse shots not allowed?

Jumps and masse shots have the greater potential to damage the cloth. If the establishment doesn’t allow those shots it’s probably because most of the players at your average pool room aren’t of high enough caliber to execute them.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

IT IS INTERESTING:  When did Diamond pool tables come out?

Is a table scratch on the 8-ball a loss?

19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

Can you play off the 8-ball?

If you shoot a ball off the table during an opening break, you forfeit your turn. Your opponent then takes position at the table and may continue shooting or take the cue ball in hand and play from behind the headstring. … It is even legal to strike the 8-ball when the table is open—but don’t pocket the 8-ball.

8 ball