Can you use Opponents ball in pool?

Illegal shots are those where you hit one of your opponent’s balls with the cue ball before contacting one of yours. If you’re playing a call shot game, you must hit the ball you called first. If you hit another one of your balls, it’s considered a foul and a loss of turn.

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?

Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.

Can you combo off someone else’s ball in pool?

Combination shots are legal shots, but you can never use the 8-ball as the first contacted ball. In other words, you can use the 8-ball in combination with another object ball to pocket an object ball, as long as you don’t strike the 8-ball first.

Can you hit opponents ball into 8-Ball?

BCA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where is the baulk line on a pool table?

What happens if you don’t hit your ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH).

What happens if you don’t hit your own ball in pool?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.

Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.

What happens when you call the wrong pocket in pool?

You win the game when you pocket all of the balls in your assigned group and then pocket the 8-ball without scratching or committing a foul. 14. You lose the game if you: … pocket the 8-ball in the wrong (non called) pocket.

8 ball