Can you shoot a ball behind the line in pool?

The incoming player may place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string. The shooting player may shoot at any object ball as long as the base of the object ball is on or below the head string. … If the opposing player does not so inform the shooting player before the shot is made, the shot is considered legal.

Can you hit a ball behind the line after a scratch?

After a scratch, the opponent must place the ball behind the second dot, like you would to break. ANY foul on the 8-ball, regardless of whether the ball is pocketed or not, is an automatic loss.

Can you shoot backwards in pool after potting white?

When playing pool, there is no forward or backward. Forward is essentially whatever direction your cue is pointing when making the shot. This means that during normal play, there is no such thing as a backward shot.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Do points cancel out in shuffleboard?

Does the white ball have to cross the line in pool?

The opening player plays at the object balls from baulk4. An object ball must be pocketed, or at least TWO object balls pass the middle line of the table to be classed as a “fair break”. i. Failure to do so is a foul break and will result in the balls being re-racked.

What is an illegal shot in pool?

(d) If no object ball is pocketed, at least four object balls must be driven to one or more rails, or the shot results in an illegal break, and the incoming player has the option of (1) accepting the table in position, or (2) re-racking and breaking, or (3) re-racking and allowing the offending player to break again.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Is it a scratch when you don’t hit a ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. … If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

Where does the white ball go in pool?

In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What was shuffleboard first called?

Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?

The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). … When on the eight-ball, if the player pots it but also fouls, that player loses the game.

What happens if a pool ball leaves the table?

OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.

What happens if the white ball is touching a Colour?

If the cue ball is touching another ball which could not be on (e.g. touching a colour when the striker must pot a red, or vice versa), a touching ball is not called, and the striker must play away from it and hit a legally nominated object ball. … The striker scores no points for balls potted as the result of a foul.

Can you play a push shot in pool?

Definitions: Most shots commonly known as “Push Shots” in the game of “Snooker” are allowed in the game of Eight – Ball Pool. Generally, any shot played with speed will not be deemed to be a Push Shot regardless of the fact that the cue tip may have come into contact with the Cue Ball more than once.

What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?

If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game. … Even if the black ball was the only one left if the white ball goes down, you lose.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the best cues in 8 ball pool?

Do you have to call every shot in pool?

Calling the Shots

If the shot is obvious, you don’t have to call it, but your opponent is entitled to ask if he or she is not sure. If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

8 ball