Can you move the white ball after a foul in pool?

Can you move the white ball in pool? On a normal shot, no way! … However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like. The “white” ball, usually called the cue ball, is the ball used to play.

When can the white ball be moved in pool?

The most common time that a white ball is moved is before the break. Players are allowed to position the cue ball in a way that will set them up for the perfect break. Unlike the other two situations, there will be strict limitations on where the ball can be placed in this situation.

What happens after a foul in pool?

Following a foul, the incoming player has ball-in-hand anywhere on the table, unless the foul occurred on the break shot, as noted previously.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: What is the best wood for a pool cue?

Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?

The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.

Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?

I.

In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break).

Can you move the cue ball if you don’t hit a ball?

Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.

Can you move the white ball if you have 2 shots?

In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.

What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?

If you are playing 8 ball pool by International rules, then it means that the player, who pocketed the balls, has lost. Because the rule says, if you pocket the white ball after pocketing the black (in 8 ball pool) you have lost.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Why do pool balls turn yellow?

What happens if you hit the cue ball in?

When a player has the cue ball in hand behind the head string, the referee shall warn him before he shoots if he has placed the cue ball on or within 1/2 ball width outside of the head string. If the player then shoots from on or within the specified distance outside the head string, the stroke is a foul.

What happens if you hit the opponent’s ball in pool?

Hitting your opponent’s ball in any pool game is never a good idea, and no matter what game you’re playing, you will get a penalty if you hit the other player’s ball into a pocket. Some games even go as far as giving you a penalty if the cue ball even touches their ball before it touches anything else.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Can you sink the white ball on purpose?

The cue ball is not an object ball itself and is not intended to be shot into a pocket intentionally, although it does happen. If your opponent does pocket the cue ball, whether by accidental or on purpose, then their turn is over and whatever pool foul/scratch rules you are using will apply.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you fix an uneven pool table?

Does the 8 ball go on the dot?

The eight ball will always be placed in the center of the rack. 4. Begin on the end of the table with the racking dot. If there is not one, then pick a side you would like to rack from.

What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?

“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent.

Can you hit the eight ball first?

When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.

Can you hit a ball in the kitchen in pool?

Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.

8 ball