Can you hit a ball behind the line in pool?

If a player under the same conditions intentionally causes the cue ball to contact an object ball behind the headstring, it is unsportsmanlike conduct. During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball.

Can you hit behind the line in pool?

It is is not a foul; no penalty may be assessed. It is up to the opponent to check to be sure the cue ball is in before it is shot. If the cue ball is out, the shooter must readjust the cue ball to a position behind the head string.”

Can you hit a ball behind the line after a scratch?

After a scratch, the opponent must place the ball behind the second dot, like you would to break. ANY foul on the 8-ball, regardless of whether the ball is pocketed or not, is an automatic loss.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What makes a great pool cue?

Can you shoot backwards in pool after potting white?

In a game of 8 ball pool, on the restart, after the opponent has potted the white ball, can you shoot backwards? … It is usually okay when playing with reds and yellows, not so much using spot and striped balls.

What happens in pool if you don’t hit a ball?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on the break?

Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: What is a round in shuffleboard?

What if you hit the eight ball in and then scratch?

If you pocket the 8 ball and scratch on the same shot you lose. If you shoot at the 8 ball but do not sink it and scratch, then your turn ends and your opponent takes the cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. Table scratch or sinking the cue ball are treated the same for this ruling.

Is it a scratch if you miss the 8 ball?

If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.

Does the white ball have to cross the line in pool?

The opening player plays at the object balls from baulk4. An object ball must be pocketed, or at least TWO object balls pass the middle line of the table to be classed as a “fair break”. i. Failure to do so is a foul break and will result in the balls being re-racked.

Where does the white ball go in pool?

In pool, the white ball used to drive the other balls into the pockets is called the cue ball. When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. Most players and rule books call this a scratch.

What happens when the white ball is potted in pool?

In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots). When a player gets two shots, they can pick up the white ball and place it anywhere behind the line.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Can you put a pool table on the second floor of a house?

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

What happens if you miss the 8 ball in pool?

When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. … A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.

8 ball