It’s legal in American-style pool but not in English-style pool. The jump shot is only allowed if you strike down into the table; you are not allowed to “scoop” the ball. They have special, shorter cues to control the jump shot and some players even practice this shot and are better than others at it.
What happens if you scratch in pool?
In almost every version of 8-ball pool, scratching is considered a foul when shooting at object balls other than the 8 ball. When scratching on an 8 ball shot, the offending player forfeits the game to his or her opponent and the game is over. However, it is only a loss if the 8 ball is no longer in play.
Can you pick up the white ball in pool?
Can you move the white ball in pool? On a normal shot, no way! It would be considered a foul. However, if the ball is in hand, after a foul for example, then you are allowed to move the white ball and place it wherever you like.
What happens if you touch a ball in pool?
The cue ball is always “LIVE” and if the cue ball or the hand holding or moving it touches another ball, it is a cue ball foul and your opponent will receive “ball in hand”.
Can you scratch on purpose in pool?
10. FOULS – If any of the following fouls are committed, the penalty is “ball in hand” for the incoming player. Make certain you have “ball in hand” before you touch the cue ball by confirming with your opponent. … Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What are the rules for scratching in pool?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.
Does a ball have to touch a cushion in pool?
8 ball-pool Rules
2. The Break – Player A must place the white ball behind the line and hit the pack. A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break.
What happens if you sink the white ball before the black?
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game. … Even if the black ball was the only one left if the white ball goes down, you lose.
Can you hit the opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What happens if you don’t hit your own ball in pool?
Not hitting the object ball is considered a foul. Scratch is when the cue ball goes into a pocket. … If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Is a table scratch on the 8 ball a loss?
19. PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table.
Is a scratch on the break a loss in pool?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Where does the cue ball go after scratching in pool?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.