Best answer: When you break in pool and a ball goes in?

On the break, the first shot of the game, the cue ball must be played from behind the head string (i.e., in the “kitchen”). If an object ball is pocketed on the break, you get to continue with your turn, unless you scratch (i.e., you pocket the cue ball) on the break. 2.

Do you lose if you hit the white ball in on the break?

Break Scratch

When a player scratches on the break, any pocketed balls remain pocketed, the offending player loses the turn, and the opposing player can shoot from anywhere behind the head string.

Do you win if you make the 8 ball on break?

An automatic win for the player breaking, however, if the cue ball is scratched when making the 8-ball on the break, the opponent wins the game. Option #2. The breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you level a pool table uneven floor?

What happens if black ball goes in on break?

If the black is potted, the game is restarted with a re-rack , broken by the original breaker. If the cue ball is potted on an otherwise fair break, it is a “non-standard” foul (foul) that simply ends the breaker’s turn, with no further penalties. … If no balls were potted on the break, the table remains open.

What happens if the 8 ball goes in?

Stranger things have happened. The BCA says that scratching on a break, whether the 8 ball goes in or not, is a foul. In this case, the opposing player has the choice to either spot the 8 ball on the table and continue play with ball in hand, or request that the balls be re-racked and the break done over again.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?

In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.

Can you sink every ball on break?

Rossman: There was a study done many years ago of 10,000 breaks by a conditioned environment in the game of nine-ball. And a ball went in on the break about once every three racks. So, Rossman says sinking even one ball isn’t a sure thing—even for the pros.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are old pool balls made out of?

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

What happens if you miss the 8 ball in pool?

When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. … A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.

What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?

LOSS OF GAME

a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.

What happens if you hit the black ball in and the white?

If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball first?

When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you steam clean pool table?

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

Do you have to hit your ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

8 ball