Best answer: What happens when you hit the opponent’s ball first in Pool?

When this happens illegally, the cue ball contacts your opponent’s ball first on your shot. … It’s kind of like adding insult to injury when you illegally hit an opponent’s ball into a pocket. Because, even if you didn’t hit the ball into a pocket, you still fouled by hitting the ball from the wrong group first.

Can you hit an opponent’s ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.

Can I hit opponents ball in pool?

In pool, can you hit your opponents ball after you have touched your own object ball? … As long as your own ball is hit first then the only way you foul would be a cue ball scratch, 8 ball being sunk (a loss), any ball jumping off the table (if it is the 8 ball, then it is a loss). Otherwise, it is a legal shot.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much does it cost to refinish a shuffleboard table?

Can you combo off someone else’s ball in pool?

Combination shots are legal shots, but you can never use the 8-ball as the first contacted ball. In other words, you can use the 8-ball in combination with another object ball to pocket an object ball, as long as you don’t strike the 8-ball first.

What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

What happens if you sink the opponent’s ball in pool?

Sinking one of the opponent’s balls as a side-effect of a shot is ignored. Sinking one of your own on a deliberate foul is at least punished as a foul with ball in hand.

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

Do you lose if you don’t hit the 8-ball?

If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is a good pool player called?

Can you hit opponents ball in 8-ball?

BCA rules say yes, when the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.

Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?

6. If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball. … The table is considered open after the break, even if balls are pocketed on the break.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

What happens if you scratch after hitting the 8 ball in?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

8 ball