Best answer: What happens when you break in a game of pool?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

What happens if you make a ball on the break in Pool?

1. On the break, the first shot of the game, the cue ball must be played from behind the head string (i.e., in the “kitchen”). If an object ball is pocketed on the break, you get to continue with your turn, unless you scratch (i.e., you pocket the cue ball) on the break. … the cue tip hits the cue ball more than once.

What are the rules for breaking in pool?

To make a legal break, the player must hit the balls and ensure that four balls hit cushions and that the cue ball doesn’t go down a pocket. If the 8-ball is potted on the break, the player is entitled to ask for a re-rack.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What material is used on pool tables?

Does the break count in pool?

The player who breaks must strike the rack with the cue ball. Otherwise, the break becomes illegal and the turn switches to the opponent. Any balls pocketed on the break remain pocketed. If during a break the player pockets a ball, other than the 8-ball or cue ball, the same turn continues.

Do you win if you make 8 ball on break?

An automatic win for the player breaking, however, if the cue ball is scratched when making the 8-ball on the break, the opponent wins the game. Option #2. The breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

What happens if you miss the black ball in pool?

LOSS OF GAME

a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. b) A player going in off the black ball when the black ball is pocketed loses the game.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?

If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What glue do you use for pool table bumpers?

Do you have to call every shot in pool?

Calling the Shots

If the shot is obvious, you don’t have to call it, but your opponent is entitled to ask if he or she is not sure. If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot.

Can you purposely scratch in pool?

A foul is called only if the player fouls while actually stroking the cue ball, meaning a double hit of the cue ball (sometimes called double clutching). Without this rule, a player could benefit by accidentally or purposely scratching or fouling. … Anytime the cue ball goes in a pocket b.

How do you decide who breaks in the pool?

How to Choose Who Breaks in Pool (With Steps and Pictures)

  1. Both players select a ball and place it behind the 2nd dot.
  2. Next, Both players shoot their balls the long way on the table to see who can get closest to the short rail. …
  3. See where the balls land and determine which ball is closer to the short rail. …
  4. Determine a winner of lag.

Do you lose pool if you scratch 8 Ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. … Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How do you always win in 9 ball pool?

What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?

You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.

What happens if you miss the 8 ball in pool?

When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. … A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.

Can you sink every ball on break?

Rossman: There was a study done many years ago of 10,000 breaks by a conditioned environment in the game of nine-ball. And a ball went in on the break about once every three racks. So, Rossman says sinking even one ball isn’t a sure thing—even for the pros.

8 ball