Best answer: Does the white ball have to cross the line in pool?

The opening player plays at the object balls from baulk4. An object ball must be pocketed, or at least TWO object balls pass the middle line of the table to be classed as a “fair break”. i. Failure to do so is a foul break and will result in the balls being re-racked.

Can you shoot the white ball backwards in pool?

Is it Legal to Shoot Backwards in Pool? As long as the cue ball isn’t in the string, you can shoot the ball in any direction you’d like.

Can you put the white ball anywhere in pool?

The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Do all pool tables have pockets?

When the white ball is potted in pool?

If a player fouls on the break, for example, pots the white, then they lose the right to nominate. This advantage passes to their opponent who receives two shots and a free table. With the first shot, they can play whichever ball they wish, and can then nominate a preferred set of balls on their second visit.

Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?

1. On the break, the first shot of the game, the cue ball must be played from behind the head string (i.e., in the “kitchen”). If an object ball is pocketed on the break, you get to continue with your turn, unless you scratch (i.e., you pocket the cue ball) on the break.

Can you shoot a ball behind the line in pool?

The incoming player may place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string. The shooting player may shoot at any object ball as long as the base of the object ball is on or below the head string. … If the opposing player does not so inform the shooting player before the shot is made, the shot is considered legal.

Can you purposely foul in pool?

So long as a player plays his own object ball on first contact, or via a cushion, with the cue ball in a given shot, a ‘Deliberate Foul’ cannot be called.

Can you sink the white ball on purpose?

What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: What's the best way to break in 8 ball pool?

What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?

In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.

Is ball in hand a real rule?

“Ball in hand” means you are allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table (with the exception of fouls on the break which result in “ball in hand” behind the head string) and shoot any of your balls (or the 8, if all your category of balls has been pocketed.)

What is a free shot in pool?

Following a foul the table is declared ‘open’ and the oncoming player takes a ‘free’ shot. In doing so it is permissible to play onto any object ball. Any ball may be potted, including the black if it is ‘on’.

What happens if the white ball is touching a Colour?

If the cue ball is touching another ball which could not be on (e.g. touching a colour when the striker must pot a red, or vice versa), a touching ball is not called, and the striker must play away from it and hit a legally nominated object ball. … The striker scores no points for balls potted as the result of a foul.

What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?

When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What size area rug goes under a pool table?

When can you move the cue ball in pool?

Basically, that cue ball shouldn’t be moving at all unless the cue is touching it. If the ball is moved accidentally by the cue, this is classed as a shot. In almost all cases, a scratch like this is going to result in a ‘ball in hand’ penalty.

Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?

The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.

8 ball