Why do billiard balls bounce?
Before the collision, the stick is moving towards the ball at a high speed. After the collision, the stick stops moving. It transfers some of its kinetic energy to the cue ball, which rolls forward. But some of the kinetic energy is also lost to friction between the ball and the table, causing it to roll.
How do you judge a pool angle?
A simple way to visualize and estimate cut angles is to imagine an analog clock face (or use one on your wrist). If noon (12) is straight (0°), 11 and 1 are at 30° (1/2-ball hit), 10 and 2 are at 60° (about an 1/8-ball hit), and each minute is 6°.
Is it legal to jump a ball in pool?
3.27 JUMP SHOTS
Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table. Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul.
Why are masse shots not allowed?
Jumps and masse shots have the greater potential to damage the cloth. If the establishment doesn’t allow those shots it’s probably because most of the players at your average pool room aren’t of high enough caliber to execute them.
What happens when two billiard balls collide?
When two billiard balls collide the collision is nearly elastic. An elastic collision is one in which the kinetic energy of the system is conserved before and after impact. … For collisions between balls, momentum is always conserved (just like in any other collision).
Why do balls eventually come to a stop?
When you roll a ball on the ground, the electrons in the atoms on the surface of the ground push against the electrons in the atoms on the surface of your ball that is touching the ground. A rolling ball stops because the surface on which it rolls resists its motion.
Why did billiard ball not move?
Since they have the same mass, Ball 1 will decelerate at the same rate Ball 2 accelerates. … However, the instant after they gain the same velocity, the 2 balls would no longer be in contact, as Ball 2 would now be moving away from Ball 1, or at least at the same rate as Ball 1.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
In most cases, you as the shooter will be given the benefit of the doubt and the shot will be called legal. So if you sink your opponent’s ball after hitting both balls at once, it will not be counted as a foul. Your turn ends (unless you also sunk your own ball) and the balls remain in the pockets.
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. … The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket. If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table.